Meet Our School Board

Barry Kinsey

Barry Kinsey, Chair   (Current Term: 2018-2021)
Barry has been on the St. Anthony-New Brighton school board since 1990 and during that time has served as Chair, Vice-Chair, and Treasurer. Barry has also been active in education outside the district. He was a founding board member of the Joint Powers Board of the West Metro Education Program (WMEP) and spent several years as the district's representative to the Association of Metropolitan School Districts (AMSD) where he served on and chaired the AMSD Executive Committee.  Barry and his wife Bernice Kuure have lived in St. Anthony since 1985 and have three children who attended St. Anthony-New Brighton Schools. In 1997, Barry was named St. Anthony Villager of the Year. Barry is an independent marketing consultant.  Barry can be reached at (612) 789-1493 or and his home address is 3331 Skycroft Drive, St. Anthony, MN 55418.  

Laura Oksnevad

Laura Oksnevad, Vice Chair  (Current Term: 2018-2021)
Laura Oksnevad was elected to the St. Anthony-New Brighton School Board in November 2013.  Laura and her husband, Bjorn, have lived in St. Anthony Village since 2011 and have two children, Sonja (class of 2026) and Elise (class of 2028). She is an active volunteer in the Wilshire Park Parent Association, District 282 Wellness Committee and Nativity Lutheran Church.  Laura has a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree and Public Health Nurse certificate from the University of Minnesota. Laura is currently a stay at home parent and community volunteer. Her prior work experience includes Labor and Delivery Nursing as well as clinic work as a Prenatal Nurse Educator.  Laura can be reached at (612) 788-9527 or at Her address is 2517 St. Anthony Rd., St. Anthony, MN 55418.

Don Siggelkow

Dr. Cassandra Palmer, Treasurer   (Current Term: 2015-2019)
Dr. Cassandra Palmer was elected to the School Board and began her four-year term in January 2016.  Dr. Palmer and her husband Chris have lived in St. Anthony for over a decade and their sons attend St. Anthony Middle School and Wilshire Park Elementary School.  Dr. Palmer, a surgeon who practices at Regions Hospital in St. Paul, recognizes one of the top challenges facing our school district is decreasing the academic achievement gap between white students and students of color.  "We need to have kindergarteners ready for school on their first day with equal opportunity and equal access," Palmer said.  Through her personal and professional experience, Dr. Palmer also encourages the study of S.T.E.M--Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics—for all students, with a particular emphasis on young women.  Cassandra can be reached at  Her address is 2405 Silver Lane NE, St. Anthony, MN 55418.

Andrea ScamhornAndrea Scamehorn, Director   (Current Term: 2015-2019)
Andrea Scamehorn was elected to the St. Anthony-New Brighton School Board in November 2011. Andrea and her husband Dave have lived in St. Anthony Village since 1998 and have two children, Henry (class of 2017) and Stuart (class of 2019). She is an active volunteer in the schools and with Boy Scouts. Andrea has volunteered and served as a board member on Winona State University’s Alumni Association, with St. Anthony Boosters Football, Cub Scouts, and was a Winona State University Foundation Trustee.  Andrea has both a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science degrees from Winona State University and an MBA from Metropolitan State University. She was also a Policy Fellow at the Center for the Study of Politics and Governance at the University of Minnesota’s Humphrey School for Public Affairs. Andrea is currently a stay at home parent and community volunteer. Her prior work experience includes positions in both Community and Government relations for Xcel Energy and Centerpoint Energy. She is also a member of the St. Anthony Chamber of Commerce and the Weavers Guild of Minnesota.  Andrea can be reached at (612) 789-9464 or at Her address is 3300 Belden Dr., St. Anthony, MN 55418.

Leah Slye

Leah Slye, Clerk   (Current Term: 2018-2021)
Leah and her husband Terry have lived in St. Anthony Village since 1986. They have three sons and one daughter who attended and graduated from St. Anthony-New Brighton schools. Before joining the board, Leah volunteered in all three schools and served on the Blue Ribbon Finance Committee and the District Curriculum Review Committee.  Leah can be reached at (612) 781-3982 or at Her address is 3537 Edward Street NE, St. Anthony, MN 55418




Mike Volna Mike Volna, Director   (Current Term: 2015-2019)
Mike Volna has served as a school board member for over 21 years, and has lived in the St. Anthony-New Brighton School District for most of his life. He is a 1973 graduate of St. Anthony Village High School. He and his wife, Kim, have two children, who are also graduates of St. Anthony Village High School.  Mike works for the University of Minnesota, and since 2000 has held the position of Associate Vice President, Finance and Controller.  Mike's mailing address is 1640 1st Street SW, New Brighton, MN 55112. He can be reached by telephone at (651) 635-9771, or by email at